Okanagan Short Story contest short-list announced

Two North Okanagan authors have made the short-list of finalists for the 15th annual Okanagan Short Story contest.

The quest for literary excellence attracted 163 story submissions by writers from throughout B.C.’s Southern Interior.

Three winners will be announced at a public reading with contest judge Erìn Moure, UBC Okanagan’s writer-in-residence, Feb. 12 at 7 p.m. at the Okanagan Regional Library, 1380 Ellis St., Kelowna.

Among the short-listed authors are Jade Hignett and Bhupinder Jaswal, both of Vernon.

They join Kelowna’s Shauna Mosbeck, Joe Dermo, Carlo Da Ros, Cassandre Campeau Bouthillier, Brandon Shalansky, Katherin Edwards and Shelley Wood, as well as Lake Country’s Marissa White and Andrew McMonagle of Winlaw.

Winners will be awarded $500 for first place, $200 for second, and $100 for third. The three winning stories will also be published in a limited edition chapbook.

The popular writing contest is sponsored by the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies at UBC’s Okanagan campus, The Kelowna Capital News, and the Central Okanagan Foundation.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Soul man Rann Berry returns with band to Vernon Jazz Club
Reel Reviews: Give the gift of great films, two
Reel Reviews: Give the gift of great films
Senators release Lazar to play for Canada
Possible bomb threat at Safeway
Kelowna speed skaters set PBs
Humans of Nelson takes new direction
Anilah channels elemental wind energy
Kootenay Literary Competition open for entries

Community Events, December 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Dec 17 edition online now. Browse the archives.