Storm take lead

Morning Star Staff

The Kamloops Storm grounded the Beaver Valley Nitehawks 4-2 in Game 1 of the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League championship series Friday night at McArthur Island Sports Centre.

Sheldon Hubbard opened up the scoring for the Nitehawks at 3:26 in the first from Walker Sidoni and Riley Brandt.

The Storm evened it up when Mitch Friesen scored from Luke Gordon and Spencer Schoech.

The first period was evenly played with Nitehawks outshooting the Storm 10-9.

Schoech scored on the powerplay 9:38 in the second with Nitehawk Dan Holland was doing time for slashing.

Before the second period expired, Mitch Foyle tied it from Jacob Boyczuk and Sidoni.

The Storm pulled away in the third when Gordon scored from Bobby Kashuba and Brock Balson at 1:12. Ryan Keis added an empty-netter with eight second lefts. Wade Moyls recorded 22 saves in net for Kamloops.

Game 2 went Saturday night in Kamloops and Game 3 is slated for March 31 in Beaver Valley.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Home is where her art is
Police prepared to call in reinforcements to Burnaby Mountain
Two police officers hospitalized after being rammed by stolen truck in Surrey
Business idea starting to catch fire
All-Surrey soccer final
Former DC Mayor Marion Barry dies at 78

Community Events, November 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Nov 23 edition online now. Browse the archives.