Vernon Mustangs lasso Hollyburn Huskies

The Watkin Motors Mustangs upended the Hollyburn Huskies of West Vancouver 5-3 Thursday night at Civic Arena.

Coleton Bilodeau, Dawson Chase, Powell Connor, Nick Cherkowski and Dylan Sedlacek scored as the Mustangs won the feature game in the 42nd Coca-Cola Pee Wee Invitational Hockey Tournament. Vernon (1-1) finishes pool play Friday at 3 p.m. against the Seera Icemen of Edmonton.

Denis Tuck, with two goals, and Ryan Upson replied for the Huskies, who are coached by Vernon minor hockey grad Alex McPhee. The Huskies toppled the Icemen 6-1 earlier Thursday and meet the Springbank Whalers of Calgary in their last preliminary game Friday at 12:30 p.m.

The Nanaimo Clippers brushed off the Southland Sabres of Calgary 8-4 late Thursday afternoon. Semifinals in the eight-team tourney go Saturday at 12:30 and 2:45 p.m.

Longtime minor ice official Rick Reilly was honoured before the feature tilt with the Rienie Holland Memorial Award for longtime service.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event