Armstrong businesses earn honours

Armstrong businesses earn honours

Top honours have been handed out in Armstrong-Spallumcheen.

The Armstrong Spallumcheen Chamber of Commerce recently hosted its 2017 Community Excellence Awards.

“We received some great nominations this year. It was evident that for some, a lot of consideration and thought went into putting the nomination together,” said Donna Steeves, chamber of commerce vice-president.

“A record number of nominations were received including a few from residents outside Armstrong-Spallumcheen that wanted to recognize local businesses.”

The following were recognized:

Rising Star Curriebird Yoga Studio sponsored by Chris Heidt – Tekamar Mortgages.

Micro Business of the Year Penny’s Pitstop sponsored by VantageOne Credit Union

Small Business of the Year The Twisted Purl Yarn Studio sponsored by Blackwell Building Movers

Mid-Size Business of the Year Maddocks Construction sponsored by Community Futures North Okanagan

Corporate Business of the Year Kingfisher Boats sponsored by Hub International Barton Insurance

Employee of the Year Sherry MacFarlane, Armstrong Spallumcheen Museum and Art Gallery sponsored by Shepherd’s Home Hardware and Outdoor Living Centre

Revitalization and Innovation Gambrinus Malting sponsored by Hytec – A Division of Kohler

Hospitality and Tourism Blue Hills Lavender sponsored by the Township of Spallumcheen

Organization of the Year Royal Canadian Legion Branch 35 sponsored by Okanagan Restoration Services

Volunteer of the Year Susan Wilson sponsored by the City of Armstrong

Chamber member Final Touch was also recognized with the inaugural Super User award part of a new program established this year.

The program will recognize one or two businesses each month that know the value of their chamber membership includes networking, co-op marketing opportunities and benefits.

“It was noted that Final Touch has almost perfect attendance at Business After Business events since they opened their doors and quietly provides support to other members time and time again,” said Fran Stecyk, chamber of commerce president.

“We are fortunate to have them as members of our chamber.”