Armstrong chamber reveals finalists

A record number of finalists have been announced for the Community Excellence Awards.

A record number of finalists have been announced for the Armstrong Spallumcheen Chamber of Commerce Community Excellence Awards.

The winners will be announced Saturday at the Vintage Vegas ceremony in the Centennial Theatre, followed by an evening of fun and networking in Centennial Hall.

“We will be recognizing local businesses and community members that have demonstrated a pursuit for excellence in service and innovation,” said Fran Stecyk, chamber of commerce president.

“The awards also promote responsible leadership, mentoring and volunteerism within the community.”

The nominees are:

Chris Heidt – Tekamar Mortgages Rising Star Award: Armstrong Fitbody Bootcamp; Crunchtime Market; Fortune Creek Pharmacy; The Station Diner; The Twisted Purl Yarn Studio.

VantageOne Credit Union Micro Business of the Year: Chocoliro Finest Chocolate; Chris Heidt – Tekamar Mortgages; Monashee Outdoors: Patti Wood Nucerity;  Sea Stars Kids Boutique; The Maples B&B;  Westwood Custom Windows & Doors.

Blackwell Building Movers Small Business of the Year: Armstrong Fitbody Bootcamp; Armstrong Flower & Gift Shop; Dr. Preethi Trussell; Senad Sijercic – Notary; Silhouette Fashion Boutique; Spall Storage Centre; The Brown Derby Café; Your Dollar Store With More (Armstrong).

Community Futures North Okanagan Mid-Size Business of the Year: Anchor Inn; Armstrong Inn Liquor Store; Armstrong Veterinary Clinic; Fortune Creek Pharmacy; The Station Diner.

Hub International Barton Insurance Corporate Business of the Year: Askew’s Foods; Country West Supply; Rapid-Span Structures Ltd.; Snowcap Interior Food; Valley First Credit Union.

Shepherds Home Hardware and Outdoor Living Centre Employee of the Year: Cindy Masters   (Kindale Developmental Association); Janet Gillis (PVSS); Noel Fiessel  (Spall Storage); Marlene Boone (Shepherds Home Hardware); Haley Driedigers (The Station Diner); Cindy Sims (The Red Apple).

Hytec – A Division of Kohler Revitalization & Innovation Award: A&W Restaurant; Armstrong Inn Liquor Store; Fieldstone Organics; The Maples B&B; The Twisted Purl Yarn Studio.

Township of Spallumcheen Hospitality and Tourism Award: Caravan Farm Theatre; Chocoliro  Finest Chocolate; Blue Hill Lavender; Fieldstone Organics; The Anchor Inn; The Brown Derby Café.

Okanagan Restoration Services Organization of the Year:Armstrong Spallumcheen Museum & Art Gallery; Armstrong Spallumcheen Trails Society; SPARC; The Bargain Bin; The Royal Canadian Legion Branch #35.

City of Armstrong Volunteer of the Year: Tayana Simpson; Jean Miskiman; Susan Wilson.

“These awards are an opportunity for the community to come together and celebrate the dynamic and diverse group of people who make an important contribution to the quality of life Armstrong and Spallumcheen,” said Patti Noonan, chamber executive director.

“We are very pleased with the record number of overall entries  this year, as well as the variety of businesses and the thought put into many of the submissions.”

In addition to a trophy designed by Final Touch, each winner will receive a gift basket sponsored by Edge of the Earth Vineyard, Bella Stella Cheese, Terroir Cheese and the Village Cheese Co.

Door for the event open at 6 p.m. before the show begins at 7 p.m. featuring emcees Sean Newton and Phil Hughes.

A limited number of tickets for the gala are $25 per person available by calling 546-8155 or showing up in person at the Armstrong Spallumcheen Chamber of Commerce, 3550 Bridge St.