Janice Mori (centre)

Janice Mori (centre)

Community foundation builds on momentum

At CFNO's annual general meeting in November, Janice Mori gave a report on the past year’s activities.

The Community Foundation of the North Okanagan may be more than 40 years old now, but board president Janice Mori says they are just getting warmed up.

At the foundation’s annual general meeting in November, Mori gave a report on the past year’s activities.

“Among the highlights are the building momentum of the Okanagan Rail Trail fundraising initiative, growing granting and increasing involvement in community events, as well as new ideas around how to best benefit the communities of the North Okanagan,” said Mori.

She also thanked retiring executive director Dave Fletcher for more than 12 years of service.

Mori welcomed Leanne Hammond to the foundation as the new executive director.

Hammond has 20-plus years of non-profit management experience and previously ran the Central Okanagan Foundation.

She also sat on the Community Foundations of Canada national board, and consults for various community foundations across the country.

The foundation also welcomed administrative assistant Leanne Edwards, who will help out part-time with bookkeeping, reception and overall support now that the Okanagan Rail Trail project has increased the volume of giving overseen by the foundation.

While the foundation remains firmly committed to endowment giving, Mori said, with an eye on the future, “It behooves us to look at the changing world and expand our definition of philanthropy.”

“Many experts in the field are redefining philanthropy as more than large monetary donations from the few to being the place where the public good and personal values intersect,”  said Mori, challenging the foundation board and staff to remain relevant by embracing the differences brought by a younger demographic who want to hear and see more immediate impact of their donations.

“By continually looking ahead, we can continue to be the charity for all charities and one that will support our North Okanagan community forever,” she said.

The 2017 board of directors for the Community Foundation of the North Okanagan includes Dave Adams, Catherine Lord, Annette Sharkey, George Agar, Brad Marsh, Ruby Sharma, Chris Alveberg, Mori, Tyson Amies, Min Sidhu, Mike Nolan, Herb Wong and Calvin Hoy.

For more information about the Community Foundation of the North Okanagan, the various options for giving, getting a grant, or the myriad of initiatives the foundation is involved in, check out its website at www.cfno.org.