New executive for Winter Carnival

There is new leadership within the Vernon Winter Carnival Society

There is new leadership within the Vernon Winter Carnival Society.

The organization recently held its annual general meeting and a new board was selected.

“I am thrilled with the group we have this year. They have a wide range of talent and knowledge of Carnival,” said Calvin Hoy, who is serving his first term as chairperson.

Vice-chairperson is Kevin Rothwell while treasurer is James Schneider and secretary is Dorothy Lindley

The directors are Carrie Bunney, Douglas Edgar, Brenda Fletcher, Don Gilowski, Ruth Hoyte, April Lyn Kimble, Mark Meaney, Ron Morgan, Caroline Radics, June Rigby, Sue Solymosi, Joy Stratford, Deb White and Karla Ziegler

Diana Williamson, a former director, has been named executive director. She replaces Brittany Sjoblom.

“We are sad to see Brittany move but we are thrilled to have Diana taking over who has a breadth of knowledge and skill that will benefit Winter Carnival” said Hoy.

Carnival of Superheroes Presented by Fix Auto Collision will run Feb. 7 to 16, 2014.