OC names foundation head

Okanagan College Foundation announces Alf Kempf as president

The Okanagan College Foundation has announced that Alf Kempf is taking on the role of president as the foundation embarks on raising funds for the expansion and renovation of the trades facility at the college’s Kelowna campus.

“This is an exciting time for the college and foundation,” said Kempf, who most recently held the position of vice president and chair of the Foundation’s Advancement Committee, which works on both marketing and fundraising for the college.

“There is broad recognition that skills training is crucial,” Kempf said. “The college will be embarking upon a huge expansion/modernization of its trades facilities and the foundation will assist in raising capital while continuing with its role in supporting students.”

Kempf, who has been a partner at Pushor Mitchell LLP in Kelowna since 1985, replaces Jim Henderson who has served as president for the last two years, and as a board director since 2004.

“I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with Alf while he’s been leading us in our marketing and fundraising campaigns. The foundation made great strides in Penticton, and I can’t wait to see what will happen as the lion’s share of our work shifts to the Kelowna campus,” said Okanagan College Foundation Executive Director Kathy Butler.

“It’s been a pleasure to serve on the board with such a talented group of people from all walks of life,” said Henderson, who continues with the board as past-president.

Joining the Okanagan College Foundation Board as new directors are Raf DeGuevara and Sharron Simpson.

DeGuevara is a member of the Westbank First Nation (WFN) and former elected councillor who took part in a number of lobbying efforts with government officials related to the WFN negotiating its Self-Government Agreement.

Simpson is a former councillor with the City of Kelowna during which time she served three years as chair of the Central Okanagan Regional District.

DeGuevara and Simpson join current board members Bev Busson, Bob Eby, Raghwa Gopal (in a new role as vice president at large), Jim Hamilton, Vern Nielsen, Frank Richter, Tom Styffe, Sigrid-Ann Thors, Ret Tinning, Cher Watkins, and Lynda Wilson.