Ashton Marshall

Ashton Marshall

Program gives students a head start to careers

A.L. Fortune Secondary and Pleasant Valley Secondary students win scholarships

A handful of students from Enderby’s A.L. Fortune Secondary and Armstrong’s Pleasant Valley Secondary are among 20 North Okanagan-Shuswap School District secondary school scholarship (SSA) winners.

The $1,000 SSA scholarships are earned by students who are registered in an SSA program, graduated with a Grade 12 Dogwood Diploma or Adult Dogwood, successfully completed SSA 11A, SSA 11B, SSA 12A, and SSA 12B, maintained a C-plus average or better on Grade 12 numbered courses, and reported a total of at least 900 hours to the ITA within six months of graduation.

“The SSA program is great for our students,” said school district career supervisor Mark Marino.

“It connects them with employers and allows students to get a head start on their career pathway and apprenticeship. We are very fortunate to have such a supportive community that is willing to take on students.”

Scholarship winners from Enderby and Armstrong included Ashton Marshall (ALF, automotive service technician); Megan McCrossin (PVSS, hairstylist); Carson DeBoer (ALF, heavy duty equipment); Sydney Castle (ALF, hairstylist); Jacob Wall (ALF, motor vehicle body repairer); Mason McCune (ALF, metal fabricator); Michael Jarnbrant (ALF, drywall finisher).

The rest of the scholarship winners were from Salmon Arm Secondary.

“Once again, for a district of our size, our students have earned an amazing number of scholarships,” said Marino.

“We are so proud of our students, parents, employer/sponsors and teachers for working together to make this happen.”