Doug Sonju

Classical Notes: A rhapsodic performance

Okanagan Symphony opens its 2014-15 season with Britten's Four Sea Interludes and Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue, with pianist Ian Parker.

Peter Grimes, the opera by Benjamin Britten, is about The Borough – a fictional village similar to Britten’s home town of Aldeburgh on England’s east coast.

On Sunday, The Four Sea Interludes from the opera were performed by the Okanagan Symphony at the Vernon Performing Arts Centre as the OSO’s season opener.

While Peter Grimes laments the drowning of his apprentice, the first interlude (Dawn) depicts The Borough’s daily grind and its relationship with the ocean.

As The Storm approaches, people take shelter in the pub. On Sunday Morning, the borough is in church. And that night (Moonlight), Grimes is accused of being a murderer.

Britten described the opera as: “a subject very close to my heart – the struggle of the individual against the masses. The more vicious the society, the more vicious the individual.”

The main attraction Sunday was pianist Ian Parker.

Here previously to perform for the North Okanagan Community Concert Association, for whom he played George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, this time he played it with the orchestra.

Despite Rhapsody’s astounding success, Gershwin hadn’t composed the orchestral parts. Wanting to accomplish a full score, he embarked on his Concerto in F.

He bought books and taught himself the necessary skills, but because of obligations to three Broadway musicals, he started later than planned.

Working in a remote practice shack, he completed the orchestration in six months.

While closer to a traditional three-movement concerto than the earlier Rhapsody, many jazz motifs and rhythms were recognizable from that earlier piece. Even so, what a stunning achievement.

Rhapsody in Blue had a curious gestation.

In 1924, when band leader Paul Whiteman, planning an experimental jazz concert, asked Gershwin to contribute a concerto-like piece, he was too busy. However, his brother Ira read about the concert in The New York Tribune, which stated “George Gershwin is at work on a jazz concerto, Irving Berlin is writing a syncopated tone poem, and Victor Herbert is working on an American suite.”

Gershwin called Whiteman, who told him that another promoter was planning a rival event, so five weeks before the concert, Gershwin agreed to do it.

His finished score was passed to Whiteman’s arranger Ferde Grofé, who orchestrated the piece, finishing with eight days to spare.  It was premiered by Whiteman and his Palais Royal Orchestra with Gershwin on piano.

That day the Gershwin piece was second to last. And with the ventilation system broken, the audience was tiring. Until they heard the Rhapsody.

The famous opening clarinet glissando happened accidentally. During rehearsal Whiteman’s clarinettist, Ross Gorman, played the opening notes as a continuous glissando.  Gershwin immediately insisted on keeping it, with as much of a “wail” as possible.

At Sunday’s concert, this was played by principal clarinettist Doug Sonju, playing 12 notes to produce that amazing slide. Sadly this was Sonju’s last performance with Okanagan Symphony, but what a triumphant finish after decades of performing with the orchestra and soloists. In front of an ecstatic audience, along with Parker, he took his final bow.

Jim Elderton is a freelance writer and filmmaker, who writes about the Okanagan Symphony season for The Morning Star in his column, Classical Notes.


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Sky’s no limit for 15-year-old Vernon pilot

Young Kensington Hewson gets pilots licence before she can drive

Miners dig up services of Vernon player

Ontario’s Red Lake Miners Junior A hockey club ink North Okanagan Knights forward Nic Bolin

UPDATE: Missing Kelowna teen located

Police are still looking to speak with the unidentified man she was spotted with

Vernon officer returns soccer ball and boy’s smile

RCMP officer retrieves errant soccer ball, returns it to five-year-old with cruiser lights flashing

Former Vernon psychologist disciplined

Complaint filed against Dr. Kevin Miller over conduct in context of treatment provided to client

B.C. records 30-50 new COVID-19 cases a day over weekend, no new deaths

Many of those testing positive were identified by contact tracing for being linked to other confirmed infections

Five B.C. First Nations call out Canada for ‘discriminatory’ food fish practices

West Coast nations say government ignoring court-won right to chinook and coho

No new COVID-19 cases in Kelowna over the weekend

Kelowna has nine of the Interior Health region’s 13 active cases

B.C. marine ecologist wants Canada to sink its teeth into shark protection

Gulf Islands scientist says top predator under shocking threat from human behaviour

Rent-relief program becomes new front in fight between Liberals, opposition

Opposition trying to draw parallels between decision to have Canada Mortgage and Housing Corp. run program and the WE controversy

West Kelowna woman upset with RCMP response to street brawl

A physical altercation between a group of teens and a group of adults erupted on a West Kelowna street Sunday evening

Oh baby, what a birthday gift: $2.8M raised to help Surrey boy with rare disease

‘We are very thankful to everybody,’ Aryan Deol’s father says

Kelowna real estate agent fined $6,500 for ‘misleading’ website

The website listed several services its owner was not licensed to provide

Most Read