This year’s Vernon Community Music School scholarship winners celebrate in front of the school’s Smith House.

This year’s Vernon Community Music School scholarship winners celebrate in front of the school’s Smith House.

In a musical class all their own

Community donates towards Vernon Community Morning Stars student scholarships

On May 6, 27 of the Vernon Community Music School’s most talented students from all programs showcased their musical skills at the school’s annual scholarship recital.

Scholarship awards, donated by local businesses, community groups and individuals, totalled over $7,700 this year, and will be used by recipients towards further music studies.

“We are extremely grateful to the community for supporting our students with their generous donations, and to the three judges who travelled from throughout the Okanagan to adjudicate our event,” said Linda DeLuca and Brigitt Johnson, scholarship committee co-chairs.

The panel of independent judges included Ernst Schneider, Olivia Walsh, and Felix Possak.

To participate, students are recommended by faculty, and must have demonstrated commitment and a high level of achievement in their musical studies.

This year’s recital included piano, violin, cello, viola, and guitar performances as well as a trio.

“The judges were impressed with the calibre of the student performances and we are extremely proud of each and every one of them,” said DeLuca and Johnson.

The annual event took place in the Carriage House Loft at the Smith House property, attended by an appreciative and intimate audience of family, board members, donors, faculty and members of the public.

Anyone wishing to make a donation to support next year’s scholarship recital can contact the Vernon Community Music School at 250-545-4977.

The winners are: Yanik Fillion-Murphy, piano, (Vernon Community Singers); Amy Friedman, violin and piano, (Fraternal Order of Eagles); Gillian Wong, piano, (Fraternal Order of Eagles); Colleen Venables, piano, (Caroline Galbraith Memorial); Nicholas Denton-Protsack, cello, (IODE Silver Star Chapter); Madeleine Haynes, viola, (Kal Tire); Craig Denton-Protsack, viola, (Silver Star Rotary); David Li, violin (Royal Purple #123 and Alpha Epsilon Master); Ella Friedman, violin (Sanssouci Quartet); Lindsay Baerg, piano (Sanssouci Quartet); Tristyn Waechter, guitar (Mori Family); Hana Friedman, viola and piano (MQN Architects); Indigo Freeman, violin (Parnell Appliance Ltd.); Andrea Lee, piano (Olive Woodley Memorial); Eli Garlick, violin (Dr. Laidlaw); Sean Morgan, piano (Peter and Pauline Legg Memorial #1); Julien Haynes, violin (Peter and Pauline Legg Memorial #2); Vincent Li, violin (Nixon Wenger LLP); David Denton-Protsack, violin (Drs. Lora and Mathias Fellenz); Elohim’s Blessing Cripps, piano (Reekie, Kineshanko, Tulloch); Jaye Odagiri, piano (Partly Dave’s Neighborhood Garage); Megan Van Den Maagdenberg, piano (George Shaw Memorial); Aidan Rice, piano (George Shaw Memorial); Trust Elohim Cripps, guitar (VCMS Scholarship); Triple Scoop Trio: Anastasia Martens, cello, Jacob Bennett, violin, Jenny Sunderland, piano (Margaret Crane Memorial).