Locals recognized with Okanagan Arts Awards at gala presentation

Falkland-based artist Ann Kipling and Armstrong musician Colleen Venables are two recipients of Okanagan Arts Awards.

A Falkland-based artist and Armstrong musician are two of the recipients of Okanagan Arts Awards, handed out Saturday in Kelowna by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan (ARTSCO).

Ann Kipling of Falkland was recognized in the visual arts category, while Armstrong violinist Colleen Venables, 17, was one of four semi-finalists recognized in the newly established Youth Arts category with an honourable mention award.

Kipling, who currently has a retrospective of her drawings of the Falkland landscape on display at the Kelowna Art Gallery, is a senior Canadian artist who works exclusively on paper (in drawing, printmaking or with ink or paint). She was born in Victoria in 1934 and studied at the Vancouver School of Art.

She has lived in Richmond, Lynn Valley, Oyama, and for the last 37 years, in Falkland with her husband, fellow artist Leonhard Epp.

In 2008, Kipling was presented with an honorary doctorate from Emily Carr University.

In total, 41 nominations were adjudicated to be entered into this year’s Okanagan Arts Awards and all honourees were given recognition for their commitment and excellence in the arts at the awards gala at the Mary Irwin Theatre in the Rotary Centre of the Arts.

“The artists represented a wide range of visual, performing, literary, media and culinary artists, from communities throughout the Okanagan and Thompson Valleys, and they reflect the depth of talent in the region,” said  ARTSCO executive director Elke Lange.

The evening featured a formal nominees reception and a showcase performance, along with the awards presentations, which were once again hosted by the CBC’s Gillianne Richards and Chris Walker.

The winners were presented with an original award created by Vernon artist Julie Oakes. The steel sculpture entitled Elemental Okanagan is a representation of the elements, fire, water, air and earth.

For a full list of award recipients, visit www.artsco.ca.