This year's Okanagan Arts Award has been designed and sculpted by Kamloops artist Dennis Cound.

This year's Okanagan Arts Award has been designed and sculpted by Kamloops artist Dennis Cound.

North Okanagan artists named as finalists for Okanagan Arts Awards

The arts at the gala award presentation takes place March 28 at the Rotary Centre for the Arts in Kelowna.

A number of North Okanagan artists and organizations have been nominated as finalists for this year’s eighth annual Okanagan Arts Awards.

Presented by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, artists, art supporters and organizations from the region will be recognized for their commitment and excellence in the arts at the gala award presentation, March 28 at the Rotary Centre for the Arts in Kelowna.

The Okanagan Arts Awards honours artists from various disciplines though 14 different categories: visual arts, theatre, dance, music, literary, design, media arts, graphic arts, culinary, supporter of the arts, arts educator, arts organization and youth and lifetime achievement.

The nominees represent a wide range of talents from communities throughout the Okanagan and Thompson Valleys.

Locals named as finalists include the Enderby Artists Initiative, which runs the Courtyard Gallery in Enderby. They are up for the Central Okanagan Foundation Arts Association Award, along with the Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art and Brian Wilson with the Okanagan Archive Trust Society.

Also nominated is Shuswap-based artist and educator  Tatianna O’Donnell, one of the founders of the Enderby Artists Initiative, who is up for the supporter of the arts along with Shelly Vida and Lynda Norman, both of Kelowna.

In theatre, Armstrong’s Asparagus Community Theatre is nominated along with David Kopp of Kelowna and Many Hats Theater Co, In Penticton.

Here’s a full list of the nominees:

Central Okanagan Foundation Arts Association Award

Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art

Enderby Artists Initiative

Okanagan Archive Trust Society. Brian Wilson

Arts Educator

Alexandra Babbel (Kelowna)

Delphine Derickson  (Westbank)

Nancy Holmes (Kelowna)

Randy Leslie (Kelowna)


Nick Growing (Kelowna)

Michael Lyon (Kelowna)


Get Bent School of Belly Dance and Performing Arts (Penticton)

Jordan McAlpine (Kelowna)

Shani Wendell (Lake Country)


Avante Kiosks (Okanagan Falls)

Kaitlan Murphy (Revelstoke)

Graphic Arts

David MacCoubrey (Penticton)

Kyle Poirier (Kelowna)

Mishell Raedeke (Kelowna)

Literary Arts

Patricia Ainslie (West Kelowna)

Jennifer Schell (Kelowna)

Dona Sturmanis (Kelowna)

Media Arts

Chris Stenberg (Penticton)

K.A.S.P. Entertainment (Penticton)


Dennis Colpits (Kelowna)

Ben Klick (West Kelowna)

Ernst Schneider (Penticton)

Supporter of the Arts

Lynda Norman (Kelowna)

Tatianna O’Donnell (Enderby)

Shelly Vida (Kelowna)


Asparagus Community Theatre (Armstrong)

David Kopp (Kelowna)

Many Hats Theatre Co. (Penticton)

Visual Arts

Glen Clarke (Penticton)

Jolene Mackie (Kelowna)

Chris Malmkvist (Lake Country)


Kelsie Balehowsky (Kelowna)

Nikolas Filipiric (Penticton)

Cynthia Leigh-Ann (Kelowna)

Winners will be presented with a hand-carved sculpture commissioned by Kamloops artist Dennis Cound.

Opening reception for the March 28 awards gala at the Rotary Centre for the Arts begins at 6 p.m. and the award presentations and concert start at 7 p.m.

The concert offers a rich variety of performances, and is followed by an after party at the same location.

Tickets for the 2015 Okanagan Arts Awards are $40, available online at or at the Rotary centre’s box office at 421 Cawston Ave. Phone: 250-717-5304.