Okanagan Arts Awards nominees announced

A number of North Okanagan artists have been nominated for 2013 Okanagan Arts Awards.

  • Feb. 8, 2013 3:00 p.m.

A number of North Okanagan artists have been nominated for 2013 Okanagan Arts Awards.

Sponsored by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, winners in each category will be presented with a sculpture entitled “Okanagan Refractured” by Lake Country glass artist Bruce Taiji.

In music, both Vernon-based opera singer/studio owner Melina Moore and recording artist Cory Myraas (Windmills) have been nominated along with Ben Klick, Craig Thompson and Barbara Samuel, all from Kelowna.

Recognized for their contribution to theatre is Vernon’s Jackson Mace, director of Powerhouse Theatre’s recent production of Annie, along with Peachland’s Bill Bennett and Lake Country’s Eugene Levesque (also a longtime volunteer and set designer with Powerhouse.)

In dance, Vernon’s Ruth Hoyte, of Desert Moon Dancers, and Lucy Hazelwood, of Kelowna’s Luki Dance Production, join Kelowna’s Vicki View as nominees.

Wolves of Evelyn author Harold Rhenish, now based in Vernon, has been nominated in literary arts along with Westbank’s Sterling Haynes.

Local visual artists nominated include Vernon’s Julie Oakes, owner of Headbones Gallery, veteran Okanagan artist Frances Hatfield of Armstrong, Enderby painter Jaime Seward and Vernon glass artist/instructor Patricia Doyle. They join Kelowna’s Jeanne Bates and Crystal Kay Przybille, Westbank’s Paul Brooks, Penticton’s Laila Campbell and Kendra Chappell, and Kamloops’ Denny Cound.

Wendy Ord and Glen Samuel of Mountain Lake Films in Lake Country have been nominated in media arts along with Penticton’s Dave Mai and Kelowna’s Gary Symons and David Mcilvride.

Beairsto Elementary School principal Wendy Briggs has been nominated arts educator along with Vernon muralist and youth supporter Michelle Loughery, Kelowna’s Craig Thompson and Wentworth Music as well as Lake Country’s Pippa Dean-Veerman and Deb Sherwin of Osoyoos.

Both Grant Russell, of the Enderby and District Arts Council, and Matt Brown, of Vernon’s The Hub Arts Collective have been nominated as supporter of the arts along with Summerland’s Mary Scales, Robert MacDonald and Kevin Jesuino, both of Kelowna.

A meet the nominees reception starts at 6 p.m. at the awards ceremony March 2 at the Kelowna Community Theatre and the show starts at 7 p.m.

Tickets are available online at artsco.ca.