Kevin Lepp

Vernon School District employee declares council candidacy

Kevin Lepp has lived in Vernon for nearly 50 years

A Vernon resident for nearly a half century, Kevin Lepp has longstanding roots in the community, and a good understanding of the issues facing the city.

The 26-year-plus Vernon School District employee, and former small business owner and entrepreneur in the city, has thrown his hat in the ring for a seaton on Vernon council.

“I love this city. I was raised here and believe it is a great place for young families to establish themselves,” said Lepp. “We are privileged to have both summer and winter recreational activities which are the envy of so many places across our nation. Vernon is one of the jewels of the Okanagan. Good management of our infrastructure now will be essential for future and sustainable growth without taking away from our family-focused community.”

RELATED: Voter registration push begins for B.C. referendum

Key goals for Lepp in the upcoming election campaign include:

* Sustainable economic development – aim to attract business and creative enterprise both large and small;

* Further engagement and relationship with the Okanagan Indian Band;

* Interagency, multi-team approach to address affordable housing, homelessness, mental health and addictions. “We need to continue to work to ensure a safe and healthy community for all of the citizens of Vernon;”

* Continue to improve and develop waterfront with increased parks and green space;

* Use technology to increase transparency and citizen’s accessibility to local government.

Lepp plans to engage the community to hear concerns, suggestions and ideas that will add to improving life of the citizens living in Vernon.

“I’m a team player, honest, open-minded and not afraid to make tough decisions when needed,” said Lepp, the latest candidate to declare for the Oct. 20 election.

He joins incumbents Scott Anderson, Akbal Mund, Dalvir Nahal and Brian Quiring, and Teresa Durning, Kari Gares, Kelly Fehr, Sherrilee Franks, Don Jefcoat, Lily Kerr, Rick Lavin, Jamie Morrow, Dawn Tucker and Terry Vulcano on the ballot.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Just Posted

The Rise raises KidSport Vernon’s coffers

Community association donates nearly $1,300 to local organization

Freezing rain, some snow forecasted for Okanagan-Similkameen-Shuswap

Environment Canada forecasting freezing rain and snow for much of the region

Spallumcheen’s Ina Forrest back on Team Canada

Wheelchair curler from North Okanagan will go for historic fourth world championship title in March

North Okanagan petition process begins

Regional District of North Okanagan Areas B and C property owners asked to back wastewater project

Registration open for Vernon Chamber’s Spring Expo

The event will run March 8- 9 at Kal Tire Place North

Music Rundown: Where you should be watching live music this week

Fill your calendar this week with these great shows

Body of Canadian miner found after African kidnapping

Kirk Woodman’s body was discovered 100 kilometres from the site where he worked for Progress Mineral Mining Company in Burkina Faso

Study finds more than half of food produced in Canada wasted

The study released Thursday is the world’s first to measure food waste using data from industry and other sources instead of estimates

Snowed-in Austrian nuns insist they’re staying put

Authorities have deployed heavy equipment to clear snow and fallen trees blocking the road to the monastery

Chiasson nets shootout winner as Oilers edge Canucks 3-2

Edmonton moves one point ahead of Vancouver

B.C. chief says they didn’t give up rights for gas pipeline to be built

Hereditary chief: no elected band council or Crown authority has jurisdiction over Wet’suwet’en land

Condo rental bans may be on way out with B.C. empty home tax

Many exemptions to tax, but annual declarations required

UPDATE: B.C. boy, aunt missing for three days

The pair are missing from Kamloops

Daredevil changes game plan to jump broken White Rock pier

Brooke Colby tells council daredevil event would help boost waterfront business

Most Read