Committees shaken up

Chris Pieper said 12 months ago he would switch council members to different committees

Armstrong’s mayor is a man of his word.

Chris Pieper said 12 months ago he would switch council members to different committees.

“I said we’d bounce people around after a year,” said Pieper during Monday’s regular council meeting. “I’ve changed the committee structures for no reason other than just allowing people to get more experience.”

Steven Drapala takes over as chairperson of the public works committee while veteran councillors Shirley Fowler (finance and administration, community services) and Paul Britton (planning and development) remain as chairs.

“Everybody on committees last year did a great job and now they’re going to let some people rotate around and do a great job again,” said Pieper. “I’ll probably do it again next December.”

Britton has been named acting mayor for the year with Fowler as the alternate.

Lance McGregor and Britton take over the city’s parks and recreation appointments from Linda Werner and Ron (Sully) O’Sullivan.

Werner remains as the city’s representative to the Okanagan Regional Library board, while O’Sullivan continues with the age-friendly community advisory committee.

Fowler will still be the city’s appointee to the Regional District of North Okanagan board.

Pieper will represent the city at the intermunicipal emergency operations and fire training centre advisory boards, along with the Rathfriland (Northern Ireland) Sister City committee.

Liaison appointments include McGregor (Armstrong Heritage Society, Chamber of Commerce, First Nations), Britton (Armstrong Spallumcheen Trails Society, City of Vernon Affordable Housing Committee), O’Sullivan (Okanagan Boys and Girls Club, Seniors Housing) and Drapala (Boys and Girls Club).


Just Posted

RCMP set to patrol Okanagan lakes

Vernon-North Okanagan members will be on area waters helping keep boaters safe

Vernon housing builds hope for 52 homeless individuals

The 52 unit supported housing apartment officially opens

Gardens plant hope for Vernon residents who were once homeless

Turning Points, in collaberation with Briteland, bring square foot gardening to Blair Apartments

Tolko Armstrong taking two weeks downtime

Vernon-based company tells employees mill will take downtime May 27 and June 3

More campsites coming to Vernon and beyond

Province announced half of the new spots to 13 most popular provincial parks

600 new campsites coming to provincial parks and recreation sites across B.C.

Tourism Minister announced half of the new spots to 13 most popular provincial parks

Raptors beat Bucks 105-99 to move within 1 game of NBA Finals

Leonard scores 35 as Toronto takes 3-2 series lead over Milwaukee

Bear spray culprit released from Penticton RCMP custody

The individual who sprayed the bear spray at Compass House on May 22 has been released

Municipalities protest after B.C. declares marijuana crops ‘farm use’

UBCM president seeks answers in letter to John Horgan government

Popular Peachland park reopens

Hardy Falls Regional Park has been closed from flood damage since 2017

Summerland students to raise voices in public speech competition

Public speaking component is included in high school English program

CMHC defends mortgage stress test changes amid calls for loosening rules

Uninsured borrowers must now show they could service their mortgage if rates rose two per cent

B.C. woman left ‘black and blue’ after being pushed off 40-foot cliff at lake

West Shore RCMP looking for witnesses as investigation continues

Children learn for free at Vernon library

Reading, puppet shows, prizes and more

Most Read