Councillor options expand

The ballot in Vernon continues to get more crowded.

The ballot in Vernon continues to get more crowded.

Three more people have filed papers as councillor candidates in the Nov. 19 municipal election — Scott Anderson, Juliette Cunningham and Brian Quiring.

“I want to help bring citizen input to Vernon city hall,” said Anderson, who has been a resident since 2003.

“There’s a growing perception that city hall is bureaucracy-driven rather than citizen-driven.”

As an example, Anderson points to the recent debate over narrowing roads for bike paths.

“The plan itself is founded on what seem to me to be questionable assumptions, but what is far more disturbing is the fact that the business owners most affected by the project seem to have had little or no say in the matter,” he said.

“It’s not enough just to schedule a meeting and hope people show up. If I’m elected, I’ll make a point of proactively looking for feedback from the people most impacted.”

Anderson owns a small junk removal business and a corporate communications company.

Cunningham served one term as councillor before unsuccessfully running for mayor in 2008.

“I feel I still have something to contribute,” said Cunningham of why she is seeking office this time.

“I am quite concerned with the city’s relationship at the Greater Vernon Advisory Committee and the regional district. It (conflict) doesn’t serve anyone and we need to work hard to get that on track.”

Other issues of concern for Cunningham are creating housing downtown and providing affordable housing in the community.

Cunningham also wants to focus on improving infrastructure like water, sewer and roads.

“There are significant issues around traffic flow, especially at the north end,” she said.

Cunningham has lived in Vernon since 1966 and she owns a clothing business.

Quiring could not be reached for comment in time for publication.

Already filed for the six councillor seats are Kelly Fehr, Jack Gilroy, Lily Kerr, Catherine Lord, Mary-Jo O’Keefe and Bob Spiers.

Nominations for the Nov. 19 election close Friday at 4 p.m.








Just Posted

Vernon Vipers shut out Penticton Vees in first game of home-and-home

James Porter Jr. stopped all 42 shots, Seiya Tanaka-Campbell scored his first BCHL goal Friday night

Conservation officers on the hunt for North Okanagan moose poachers

Officers execute search warrant Friday morning, investigation continues

Vernon Montessori students re-gift to raise funds

Holiday Gift Shop fundraiser supports Project Christmas Elf, teaches sustainability

Sagmoen’s lawyer argues ‘abuse of power’ in police search

The trial of Curtis Sagmoen continued at the Vernon Law Courts on Friday

Vernon’s All Saints Church sets table for less fortunate

Fifth annual Festive Street Lunch will take place at All Saints’ Church tomorrow

‘Where the miracles live’: Shane Koyczan narrates powerful KGH Foundation video

‘There is more to being alive than just our data plans… there’s our plans’

Prince George RCMP use bait packages to catch porch pirates over the holidays

First-in-Canada program with Amazon looks to combat parcel theft

WATCH: Fire destroys Big White Ski Resort chalet

The fire was reported around 2 a.m. Saturday morning

UPDATE: Highway 1 reopens after vehicle incident near Boston Bar

Initial reports of a jack-knifed semi truck had closed both directions of the highway

Nanaimo mechanical engineer creates thief tracking program

Nanaimo Thief Tracking lets users plot and share information about thefts online

Mayor wants B.C. to institutionalize severely mental ill people who are homeless

Those suffering from mental health conditions, such as schizophrenia, need specialized care, mayor says

Five things of note from Trudeau’s mandate letters to his ministers

Some marching orders come from the Liberal Party’s campaign, while others are new additions

Scheer’s resignation tips party into internal war over school tuition payments

The Conservatives have a Toronto convention already scheduled for April

Most Read