New mayor for Enderby

Councillor Howie Cyr knocks off incumbent Dee Wejr; incumbent defeated in council bid

Enderby voters are giving a councillor a shot at the mayor’s chair.

Howie Cyr, who served as a councillor under incumbent Mayor Dee Wejr, was voted into power Saturday, garnering 552 votes, more than double the amount of votes received by Wejr (226).

Four of the five incumbent councillors seeking re-election retained their seat though it was challenger Tundra Baird who topped the polls with 548 votes, one more than incumbent Brad Case.

Challenger Raquel Knust finished third with 525 votes while incumbents Greg McCune (500), Earl Shipmaker (430) and Beryl Ludwig (412) held onto their seats to serve another three-year term.

Incumbent Tony Vetter was ousted, receiving 361 votes while Karen Durant picked up 357 votes.


Just Posted

Sagmoen’s arrest was valid, Vernon RCMP officers say

Curtis Sagmoen saga continued Tuesday with defence counsel questioning validity of warrant

Tax increase allows for more firefighters in Vernon

City of Vernon councillors approved a 4.91 per cent tax increase in 2020

Truck fire spreads to property in gated Vernon community

A loud bang rang out as flames spread to the grass

RCMP traffic services moves to Falkland to slow down speeders

Falkland detachment to serve as new HQ for RCMP’s North Okanagan Traffic Services

Mr. Mikes Vernon to recognize local charities with $500

Restaurant looking for Deeds Well Done in 7th annual holiday campaign

B.C. woman charged in connection to stolen vehicle smash-up in Kamloops

Kersten Ina Peters was arrested in the Fraser Valley on Friday, Dec. 6

Tavares scores twice as Maple Leafs earn 4-1 win over Canucks

Vancouver sees two-game win streak snapped

UPDATED: No survivors in Gabriola Island plane crash: RCMP

Coroner confirms multiple fatalities after small plane goes down Tuesday night near Nanaimo

VIDEO: Harbour Air makes history with first electric aircraft test flight

Successful flight marks first of its kind in the world

The Grinch who Stole a Hedge: Security camera captures Chilliwack tree theft

RCMP arrives as person calmly walks away with tree in downtown area

Salmonella outbreak in Canada linked to rodents and snakes

92 cases of salmonella across six provinces, including B.C.

Meng Wanzhou wins right to more documents involving arrest at Vancouver airport

Defence lawyers allege the Huawei executive was unlawfully detained, searched and interrogated

Truck with body inside found at bottom of lake near Kootenay ferry

Investigators believe no foul play is expected but are unsure how the vehicle ended up in the Arrow Lakes

Most Read