Skip to content

New North Okanagan committee accepting applications

The RDNO is inviting people to apply for the new Inter-municipal Accessibility Advisory Committee
The RDNO is launching a new committee, in partnership with the provincial government’s Accessible Act. (Brendan Shykora - Morning Star)

The Regional District of North Okanagan (RDNO) is encouraging residents to apply for the new Accessibility Advisory Committee, which is a part of the Accessible B.C. Act.

To promote collaboration and efficiency, the RDNO, City of Armstrong, District of Coldstream, City of Enderby, Village of Lumby, Township of Spallumcheen and the City of Vernon have opted to form a regional committee.

The Accessible B.C. Act, which became law on June 17, 2021, requires local governments and public organizations to establish an accessibility committee, develop an accessibility plan, and seek public feedback. The committee will consist of up to seven voting members who meet the act’s criteria.

Applicants who have disabilities, work with organizations supporting persons who have disabilities, or face other barriers to working in or interacting with local governments are encouraged to apply. The committee will reflect the diversity of persons in B.C. and include Indigenous membership.

As an advisory committee member, your insights will help the Board of Directors and Municipal Councils make decisions about policies, programs, and infrastructure that consider the needs of individuals with disabilities, fostering equality and inclusivity.

You can apply for a position at, or visit the RDNO office at 9848 Aberdeen Road. Application deadline is July 31.

READ MORE: VIDEO: Seize the day with wine

READ MORE: Free golf for your child at the Vernon Golf and Country Club


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and subscribe to our daily and subscribe to our daily newsletter.

Bowen Assman

About the Author: Bowen Assman

I joined The Morning Star team in January 2023 as a reporter. Before that, I spent 10 months covering sports in Kelowna.
Read more