North Okanagan athletes prepared for B.C. Winter Games competition

The North Okanagan will be well represented in competition at the Greater Vernon B.C. Winter Games...

The North Okanagan will be well represented in competition at the Greater Vernon B.C. Winter Games.

Greater Vernon has 34 athletes, coaches and officials registered.

Athletes competing in their hometown include Eric Byram (biathlon); Amy Edwards and Sydney Hofer (female curling); Deven Schmidt and Matthew Young (male curling); Jenna Lazar (female hockey); Devin Dunlop, Hayley Timmerman and Kayla Wirth (judo); Dayce Knopf, Teigan Moore, Emily Olds and Madison Powls (ringette); Gavin Donald, Jaden Parsons, and Christopher Richardson (alpine skiing); Hannah Mehain and Aidan Oliphant (cross-country skiing); Tanner Gordon, Landon Gordon, Jake Ondrik, Hayden Person and Ty Schulte (freestyle skiing).

Speed skater Connie Kapak will be competing in Armstrong as the event is held at the Nor-Val Sports Centre.

Vernon officials and coaches taking part include Cheryl Paris (female curling); Ryan Young (male curling); Nancy Dennis (figure skating); Aubrey Comley (judo); Kaitlin Weatherill (ringette); Ian Chernencoff (alpine skiing); Darren Derochie and Georgia Manhard (cross-country skiing); Mark Dobson (freestyle skiing).

Competing from Coldstream are Logan Meier (archery); Ali Roine and Brooke Toop (female hockey); Jason Holmes, Jaden Jones and Kauner Jones (judo); Langdon Kersey and Katrina Van Soest (alpine skiing); Connor Broderick, Patrick Dew and Zachary Fenn (freestyle skiing).

Brent Barker will be an official in freestyle skiing.

Armstrong has two athletes competing in male curling, Brendan Chapple and Brendan Cliff.

Enderby will be represented by athletes Sydney Castle and Tea Reimer (archery); James Huntington (badminton); Kylie Tokairin (female curling); Alyssa Skaalid (speed skating); and Sandra Farynuk (head coach, male curling).

Eric Embleton of Falkland will compete in cross-country skiing.

Lumby is represented by archery competitor Reid Hackett.

Competition in all of the sports begins Friday morning.