North Okanagan residents have their say

Janice Brown keeps mayor's seat in Spallumcheen, Greg McCune earns the top spot in Enderby, Rick Fairbairn keeps rural Lumby seat...

  • Nov. 15, 2014 1:00 p.m.


Spallumcheen’s current mayor is getting ready to continue her work.

Janice Brown was re-elected to the post in Saturday’s municipal vote, garnering 711 votes and beating a challenge from former mayor Will Hansma who collected 445 votes.

“I’m so excited,” said Brown over a din at a Saturday night party at her house featuring councillors, supporters and friends. “Oh wow, I’m very overwhelmed, honoured and humbled. I am looking forward to the next four years.”

Hansma, who was seeking a sixth term as mayor, was gracious in defeat.

“Obviously they’ve given the current mayor a good mandate, a good opportunity to govern for the next four years,” said Hansma. “I wish her all the best and hope everything goes well with this council. I gave people an option and, at the end of the day, that’s what it was all about.”

Five of Brown’s six current councillors were re-elected to their posts, led by Christine Fraser, who topped the polls with 948 votes.

Todd York was second with 913 votes, followed by Andrew Casson with 783 votes, two more than Joe Van Tienhoven.

Newcomer Christine LeMaire finished fifth with 755 votes and incumbent Ed Hanoski garnered the final spot with 698 votes.

Linda Griffin was seventh with 613 votes.

Incumbent Rachael Ganson decided not to seek re-election.

Brown said she heard from township residents that a good team was in place, and looks forward to adding LeMaire to the lineup.

“I appreciate all of them and working with all of them,” said Brown of her council lineup. “I’ve only met Christine twice but she will be a great addition.”


There’s a change in leadership in Enderby.

Greg McCune, a current councillor, topped the polls as mayor with 568 votes during Saturday’s election. Incumbent mayor Howie Cyr received 356 votes.

“I’m excited. I worked very hard and I’m very happy,” said McCune, Sutherland’s Bakery owner.

“Howie did an excellent job and the difference for people is I’m more of a people person.”

McCune says he’s ready to work with council.

“We will get a clear set of priorities and focus on that. We will address the water and keeping taxes down,” he said.

Cyr has been mayor for one term.

“Obviously the community has spoken and that is what their wishes are,” he said of the results.

“I did my best and the community wants to go in a different direction.”

Elected as councillors are Roxanne Davyduke (681), Brad Case (617), Shawn Shishido (613), Raquel Knust (605), Tundra Baird (554) and Brian Schreiner (488). Paul McCaig received 458 votes while Jim Macknee got 419 votes.

Rural Lumby

Rick Fairbairn has won a clear victory in rural Lumby.

The incumbent director won another term after capturing 463 votes in Area D Saturday. Huguette Allen received 199 votes.

“The constituents have spoken,” said Fairbairn, who is currently vice-chairperson of the Regional District of North Okanagan.

Fairbairn who has been director since 2002, believes there are a number of reasons why voters went with him.

“My past record on the environment, forestry and agriculture were factors.”

Allen says she presented an opportunity for change.

“A lot of ideas were perceived to be scary but we got 40 per cent of the vote,” she said.

“We set a fire under a lot of people.”

Rural Enderby

Herman Halvorson is back in the saddle again.

The Grindrod resident captured 327 votes during Saturday’s civic election while incumbent Jackie Pearase received 227 votes.

“I will represent everyone equally and with dignity,” said Halvorson,who retired from politics in 2011 after three terms.

Halvorson believes many residents supported him because he has lived in the area his entire life.

“It was a good campaign,” he said.

Pearase, a writer, is disappointed with the results.

“They (residents) can live with what they’re going to live with for four years…I worked hard,” she said.

Lake country

It’s déja vu all over again in Lake Country.

Incumbent mayor James Baker held onto his position for another four years, beating a challenge from Jayson McCarthy by a margin of 1,215 votes to 990.

Baker defeated McCarthy and two other challengers in 2011.

Owen Dickie was re-elected as the Oyama ward with 278 votes. Dickie defeated Kelli Westgate, who collected 127 votes.

At-large wards are incumbent Penny Gambell (1,331 votes) and newcomer Bill Scarrow (920 votes), while Blair Ireland will represent Okanagan Centre after garnering 344 votes compared to 282 for incumbent Lisa Cameron. Matt Vader won by acclamation in Carr’s Landing.


It came down to only a 15-vote difference to determine who wouldn’t make the cut for councillor in Coldstream.

All of the incumbents will be keeping their seats, and will be joined by former councillor Glen Taylor.

Newcomer to politics Shane Hillman earned 1,351 votes, not quite enough to earn him a seat. Taylor collected 1,366, Peter McClean earned 1,412, there were 1,463 votes for Richard Enns, Gyula Kiss got 1,537, Pat Cochrane got the nod from 1,586 residents and Doug Dirk topped the polls with 1,670.


Rene Talbot is keeping his position as director in Falkland with the Columbia Shuswap Regional District.

Talbot collected 280 votes to secure his seat, while his challenger, Kelly Stalker, earned 184 votes.

North westside

Former fire chief Wayne Carson topped the polls to claim the Central Okanagan West Electoral Area director’s chair.

Carson collected 414 votes, followed by Marsali MacIver with 125 and Eric Von Krosigk with 47.

School Trustees

A new face has graduated to the Coldstream trustee position with the Vernon School District.

Robert Lee earned 1,160 votes to take over veteran Bill Turanski’s seat, as he earned 1,023.

Another new face also topped the polls for the Vernon trustees.

Lisa de Boer (3,980) will begin her first term as school trustee alongside incumbents Kelly Smith (3,548), Mollie Bono (3,248) and John Armstrong (3,126).  Steve Connor (2,670), Brenda Giffin (2,647) and Perry Wainwright (2,615) failed to earn a seat.

There’s been some changes among the Armstrong-Spallumcheen trustees.

Bob Fowler (1,283) will keep his position but former Armstrong councillor Kelly Rowe (1,291) will be seated next to him (instead of Laurie Myers, who was defeated with 1,139 votes).

Armstrong council results were not available at press time.