Janice Brown has been elected as the new mayor of Spallumcheen.

North Okanagan voters make their mark

Election roundup for Spallumcheen, Coldstream, Armstrong, Lake Country regional districts and school boards

  • Nov. 21, 2011 2:00 p.m.


Janice Brown has been elected to take the reins of the Township of Spallumcheen council.

The longtime councillor edged out fellow councillor Dave Brew by a count of 542-432 in Saturday’s municipal election.

“I’m still a little in shock but I’m so pleased,” said Brown. “Pleased with the council, we have an excellent council, everybody wanting to move forward and work together, and our work has just begun.”

Brown replaced Will Hansma, who decided not to seek re-election.

Brew had served council for three terms.

“Dave gave a lot,” said Brown. “He had a lot of time and a lot of business sense. He’ll be missed as chair of parks and recreation, he did that for six years. He always gave 100 per cent, he was passionate about recreation.”

The three incumbent councillors who hoped to keep their positions topped the polls, led by Christine Fraser with 750 votes, seven more than Todd York. Andrew Casson was third with 634 votes.

Newcomers include Joe Van Tienhoven, who was fourth in the polls with 601 votes, and the father-daughter combo of Ed Hanoski (537 votes) and Rachael Ganson (517).

Tom Boeve was seventh in voting with 488 votes while former councillor Carolyn Farris was eighth with 407.


Jim Garlick enjoyed a decisive victory in Coldstream Saturday.

The secondary school teacher won a second term as mayor, receiving 1,578 votes. Challenger Dave Hrabchuk got 829 votes.

Garlick says he didn’t take it for granted that he would win.

“I’m pleasantly surprised. You never know how it will go until they count the votes,” he said.

Garlick believes the outcome is an indication of general support among residents for the direction the district has taken.

“People overall are happy with the last three years,” he said.

“I don’t think we had a bad council and we work for the community.”

Garlick will spend the next three years with virtually all of his current colleagues.

Incumbents Doug Dirk (1,668), Pat Cochrane (1,630), Maria Besso (1,602), Gyula Kiss (1,451) and Richard Enns (1,263) were re-elected. Former councillor Peter McClean came in fifth place at 1,299.

Glen Taylor was seventh with 1,225 votes and John Hegler placed eighth with 1,015 ballots.

Garlick’s first priorities will be the 2012 municipal budget and resolving outstanding issues with Coldstream’s partners in Greater Vernon.

“I have already sent an e-mail to (Vernon mayor elect) Rob Sawatzky and I want to meet with him,” he said.

Another item on the agenda is upgrades to the district’s public works yard.

During a referendum Saturday, 1,432 people voted in favour of borrowing $1.3 million to construct a new mechanic shop and improve the public works yard.

There were a total of 948 votes opposed to borrowing the funds.


There’s no change in Armstrong as the six incumbent councillors have been re-elected.

Shirley Fowler topped the polls with 606 votes. Paul Britton was second (601) followed by Ryan Nitchie (573), Sully O’Sullivan (550), Kelly Rowe (535) and John Trainor (461).

Challengers Dave McKechnie garnered 406 votes while Robert Thibeau picked up 334 votes.

Mayor Chris Pieper will serve a second term, having been re-elected by acclamation.

Vernon School Board

There will be a lot of new faces around the Vernon School District board table.

Newcomers Kelly Smith (3,390), Tami Ryder (2,999) and John Armstrong (2,721) took the top three places for the Vernon and BX seats. Incumbent Mollie Bono came in fourth with 2,584  votes.

Incumbents Perry Wainwright (2,434) and Steve Connor (2,428) finished fifth and sixth, respectively, while newcomer Jim Hart was seventh at 2,371.

The results for the two Lumby/Cherryville trustee seats were not known at press time.


A former reporter will represent the residents of rural Enderby.

Jackie Pearase, who wrote for The Morning Star, was elected a Regional District of North Okanagan director Saturday with 213 votes.

“It’s exciting,” said Pearase of her new duties.

“I am looking forward to getting to work quickly.”

Placing second Saturday was farm machinery salesperson Herman Gerritts with 111 votes.

The directors for RDNO’s four other electoral areas were acclaimed to office.

Lake Country

There won’t be a change at the top in Lake Country.

Incumbent Mayor James Baker topped the polls Saturday with 988 votes, followed by Jayson McCarthy at 713, Noreen Guenther at 530 and Bill Clark at 449.

Representing the Oyama ward will be Owen Dickie who got 288 votes compared to 223 for Rob Nairne.

The councillors-at-large are Jamie McEwan and Penny Gambell while the Winfield councillor is Rob Geier. Lisa Cameron will represent Okanagan Centre and Barbara Leamont will be the Carr’s Landing councillor.

North Westside

North Westside residents have endorsed Jim Edgson’s leadership.

The Regional District of Central Okanagan director topped the polls Saturday with 250 votes (49 per cent) In second was Dave Robertson at 162 votes (31.8 per cent) while third was Aaron Dinwoodie with 98 votes (19.2 per cent).

Voters have also agreed to fund operations at the Killiney Beach Community Hall.

There were 174 votes in favour of the referendum and 109 votes opposed.


Rene Talbot has captured a fourth term in Falkland.

Talbot led the polls with 315 votes as Columbia-Shuswap Regional District director for Falkland-Salmon Valley.

Second place went to Julie Stuart with 105 votes.


Just Posted

Sagmoen’s arrest was valid, Vernon RCMP officers say

Curtis Sagmoen saga continued Tuesday with defence counsel questioning validity of warrant

Tax increase allows for more firefighters in Vernon

City of Vernon councillors approved a 4.91 per cent tax increase in 2020

Truck fire spreads to property in gated Vernon community

A loud bang rang out as flames spread to the grass

RCMP traffic services moves to Falkland to slow down speeders

Falkland detachment to serve as new HQ for RCMP’s North Okanagan Traffic Services

Mr. Mikes Vernon to recognize local charities with $500

Restaurant looking for Deeds Well Done in 7th annual holiday campaign

B.C. woman charged in connection to stolen vehicle smash-up in Kamloops

Kersten Ina Peters was arrested in the Fraser Valley on Friday, Dec. 6

Tavares scores twice as Maple Leafs earn 4-1 win over Canucks

Vancouver sees two-game win streak snapped

UPDATED: No survivors in Gabriola Island plane crash: RCMP

Coroner confirms multiple fatalities after small plane goes down Tuesday night near Nanaimo

VIDEO: Harbour Air makes history with first electric aircraft test flight

Successful flight marks first of its kind in the world

The Grinch who Stole a Hedge: Security camera captures Chilliwack tree theft

RCMP arrives as person calmly walks away with tree in downtown area

Salmonella outbreak in Canada linked to rodents and snakes

92 cases of salmonella across six provinces, including B.C.

Meng Wanzhou wins right to more documents involving arrest at Vancouver airport

Defence lawyers allege the Huawei executive was unlawfully detained, searched and interrogated

Truck with body inside found at bottom of lake near Kootenay ferry

Investigators believe no foul play is expected but are unsure how the vehicle ended up in the Arrow Lakes

Most Read