Pieper makes appointments

The City of Armstrong has released its committee appointments

The veterans will show the newcomers the ropes.

The City of Armstrong has released its committee appointments, effective Monday, and incumbents Shirley Fowler, Paul Britton and Ron (Sully) O’Sullivan will head up the four main groups.

“I definitely wanted the experience to lead the groups,” said Mayor Chris Pieper on the appointments. “I want the newcomers to get comfortable with the committees and how they operate, and we’ll change them next December. We always do.

“I told the new guys they’ll be chairs of committees before they know it.”

Fowler has been named chairperson of finance and administration, joined by new councillors Lance McGregor and Steve Drapala, and of community services, where she will be joined by McGregor and O’Sullivan.

Britton will head up the planning and development committee, joined by Drapala and McGregor.

O’Sullivan has been appointed chairperson of the city’s public works committee, joined by Drapala and newcomer Linda Werner.

O’Sullivan remains as one of two city appointments to the Armstrong Spallumcheen Parks and Recreation Commission, joined by Werner.

Fowler remains the city’s representative to the Regional District of North Okanagan board.

Britton is the chamber of commerce and City of Vernon affordable housing liaison, and joins Drapala as the city’s reps to the Okanagan Boys and Girls Club.

McGregor has been named the city’s First Nations Liaison.

Werner takes over from O’Sullivan on the Okanagan Regional Library board.


O’Sullivan has been appointed the city’s senior housing and age friendly community committee rep.