RDNO board changes

At least five directors are departing the regional district board

The Regional District of North Okanagan board is in transition.

The current board held its final regular meeting of the three-year term Wednesday and at least five directors are departing.

“I believe all of you can be proud of the accomplishments that this board has collectively been part of,” said Rick Fairbairn, vice-chairperson.

Among those who won’t be on the next board are director Rob Sawatzky who did not seek re-election as Vernon mayor Nov. 17, rural Enderby director Jackie Pearase who lost her re-election bid, Howie Cyr who was not re-elected as Enderby mayor and director Mary-Jo O’Keefe who unsuccessfully ran for Vernon mayor.

Also leaving is Eugene Foisy, who decided to retire as Cherryville director after 20 years.

“It’s been my pleasure working with the board and staff. I have a lot of good friends here,” said Foisy.

Further changes could occur once the new board meets in December as municipalities could change their appointments to RDNO.

“For those members who will be returning, there remain outstanding issues and new items will inevitably come up that will require your attention,” said Fairbairn.



Pop-up banner image ×