Vernon-Monashee MLA has new role in the Legislature

Premier Christy Clark reshuffles cabinet after ministers depart

Eric Foster

Eric Foster

Eric Foster has been promoted.

The Vernon-Monashee MLA has been named government whip as part of Premier Christy Clark’s cabinet shuffle Wednesday.

Foster, who was previously deputy whip, will be responsible for discipline among the Liberal caucus in the Legislature.

Norm Letnick, Kelowna-Lake Country MLA, is the new agriculture minister.

Clark shuffled her cabinet after a number of cabinet ministers decided not to seek re-election next May.

The new cabinet includes:

* Premier – Christy Clark

* Minister of Energy, Mines and Natural Gas and Minister Responsible for Housing and Deputy Premier – Rich Coleman

* Minister of Finance and House Leader – Mike de Jong

* Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation – Ida Chong

* Minister of Advanced Education, Innovation and Technology – John Yap

* Minister of Agriculture – Norm Letnick

* Minister of Children and Family Development – Stephanie Cadieux

* Minister of Citizens’ Services and Open Government – Ben Stewart

* Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development – Bill Bennett

* Minister of Education – Don McRae

* Minister of Environment – Terry Lake

* Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations – Steve Thomson

* Minister of Health – Margaret MacDiarmid

* Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Skills Training – Pat Bell

* Minister of Justice and Attorney General – Shirley Bond

* Minister of Social Development – Moira Stilwell

* Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure – Mary Polak

* Minister of State for Seniors – Ralph Sultan

* Minister of State for Small Business – Naomi Yamamoto