The 2017-18 Canadian Snowboard Team.

The 2017-18 Canadian Snowboard Team.

Canada chooses Hill, Minard

Vernon’s Kevin Hill and Curt Minard have made Canadian Snowboard teams for the 2017/2018 season.

Vernon’s Kevin Hill and Curt Minard have made National Canadian Snowboard teams for the 2017/2018 season.

Encompassing 38 riders as part of the full national team, and an additional 27 riders as part of a series of development groups and NextGen programs, Canada looks to have a strong season heading into the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympic and Winter Paralympic Games.

Canadian Riders had another incredible year on snow in 2016/2017, with over 38 World cup, World Championship, and TTR Elite podiums (as well as 2 Crystal Globes) added to their trophy cases. Riders will be looking to make their mark again this winter, with the majority of spots on the Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Snowboard teams up for grabs.

2017/2018 National Team, NextGen Program and Development Groups

Snowboardcross National Team


Chris Robanske (Calgary, AB)

Kevin Hill (Vernon, BC)

Baptiste Brochu (Saguenay, QC)


Tess Critchlow (Kelowna, BC)

Zoe Bergermann (Erin, ON)

Carle Brenneman

(North Vancouver, BC)

Meryeta O’Dine (Prince George, BC)

Katie Anderson (Jaffray, BC)


Marcel Mathieu, Rene Brunner

Snowboardcross Development Group


Tyler Jackson (Whitby, ON)

Evan Bichon (Prince George, BC)

Eliot Grondin (Sainte-Marie, QC)

Liam Moffatt (Truro, NS)

Danny Bourgeois (Rosemère, QC)


Audrey McManiman

(Saint-Ambroise-de-Kildare, QC)

Emilie-Kate Robinson-Leith (Killington, VT)

Alpine Snowboard National Team


Jasey-Jay Anderson

(Mt Tremblant, QC)

Darren Gardner (Burlington, ON)

Sébastien Beaulieu

(Sherbrooke, QC)

Richard Evanoff (Pickering, ON)


Megan Farrell (Richmond Hill, ON)

Kaylie Buck (Oakville, ON)

Coach: Jan Wengelin

Alpine Snowboard Development Group


Jules Lefebvre (Montreal, QC)

Richard-Riley Kilmer-Choi

(Oakville, ON)

Arnaud Gaudet (Montcalm, QC)


Marianne Laurin-LaLonde (Montreal, QC)

Jennifer Hawkrigg (Toronto, ON)

Katrina Gerencser (Burlington, ON)

Rebecca Letourneau-Duynstee

(Hudson, QC)

Para-Snowboard National Team


John Leslie (Arnprior, ON)

Alex Massie (Barrie, ON)

Andrew Genge (Oshawa, ON)

Gerrit Van Bruggen (Nelson, BC)

Curtis Minard (Vernon, BC)


Michelle Salt (Calgary, AB)

Coaches: Mark Fawcett, Dave Balne

Halfpipe National Team


Derek Livingston (Aurora, ON)

Trevor Niblett (Toronto, ON)


Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, BC)

Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto, ON)

Elizabeth Hosking (Longueuil, QC)

Calynn Irwin (Toronto, ON)

Coach: Mike Slaughter

Halfpipe Development Group


Shawn Fair (Calgary, AB)

Owen Wopnford (Calgary, AB)

Jack Collins (Calgary, AB)

Slopestyle National Team


Mark McMorris (Regina, SK)*

Sébastien Toutant (Montreal, QC)

Maxence Parrot (Bromont, QC)*

Tyler Nicholson (North Bay, ON)

Darcy Sharpe (Comox, BC)

Michael Ciccarelli (Ancaster, ON)

Max Eberhardt (North Bay, ON)

*Provisionally nominated to Canadian Olympic Snowboard Team


Spencer O’Brien (Courtenay, BC)

Jenna Blasman (Kitchener, ON)

Laurie Blouin (Stoneham, QC)

Brooke Voigt (Fort McMurray, AB)

Baily McDonald (Barrie, ON)

Coaches: Elliot Catton, Chris Witwicki

Slopestyle NextGen Team


Francis Jobin (Lac Beauport, QC)

Carter Jarvis (Calgary, AB)

Joshua Reeves (Calgary, AB)

Sean Miskiman (Calgary, AB)

William Buffey (Toronto, ON)

John ‘Jack’ MacDougall

(Grand Prairie, AB)


Océane Fillion (Saguenay, QC)

Jasmine Baird (Missassauga, ON)

Marguerite Sweeney

(St-Basile de Portneuf, QC)

Sommer Gendron (Toronto, ON)