Russell Day

Russell Day

Edwards cards Vernon men’s title

Cody Edwards wins Vernon Golf & Country Club men’s championship.

A lesson and a few sodas with pro Justin Baillageron put Cody Edwards in a good frame of mind before the Vernon Golf & Country Club men’s championship last weekend.

Edwards carded rounds of 76-75-151 for a one-stroke victory over Jason Bilodeau. Edwards and low net champion Al Janz (139 retro) each claimed $125 pro shop gift cards.

“Justin helped me go from a natural draw to a natural fade so the misses are closer,” said Edwards, a 24-year-old Kal Tire employee.

“I only had the one birdie on 11,” said Edwards. I just made a lot of pars. I was hitting it long and straight off the tee. The greens were really fast; I’ve been a member for 13 years and I’ve never seen the course play so tough.”

There was a field of 82 with Norm Kreutz at 153, Fred Johnston at 155 and Andy Saunders at 156 rounding out the championship flight low gross.

Ken Friesen with a 158, Angelo D’orazio at 160, Graydon Brown at 163 and Jim Sparrow with a 166 topped the first flight.

Peter Murray won the second flight low gross at 164, followed by Dennis Connelly at 165, Brian Bonenfant at 167 and Don McGee with a 173.

In the third flight, it was Brian Usher first at 165 ahead of Tim Ouellette at 169, Dennis Yano at 173 and Todd Oliver at 176.

The fourth flight was won by Fred Chirkoff at 174, followed by Andy Erickson ay 175, John Guest at 183 and Andy Gilbert with a 185.

Geoff Bennett ruled the championship flight low net at 144 (R) with Graeme Nevins at 144, Mike Sheldon at 145 and Ken Kurbis at 147.

Doug Smith took the first flight at net 139, followed by Stacey Nickel at 149 (R), Brian Ostafew at 149 and Rick Barefoot at 152.

The second flight low net went to Bob Birmingham at 143, in front of Lorne Davies at 144, Ron Scholes at 149 and Richard Bargery at 151.

Third flight winner was Chris Rogers with a 140, ahead of James Phair at 147, Eamon Doherty at 150 (R) and Ian Laidlaw with a 150.

Premen Heng claimed the fourth flight at 144 ahead of Ian Foord at 145, Jim McLaren with 146 and Rick Krushen at 148.

Meanwhile, Chris McEachran-Law went 72-77-149 to win the Vernon club junior title by two strokes over Alex Kreutz.

Russell Day won the low net title at 147 (retro) over Matt Kreutz in a field of a dozen players.

Johnny Lysholm defeated Bill Copeland in a playoff to win the Spallumcheen senior men’s club title after both players shot 74.

Jeff Parker carded a 63 to claim the overall low net championship by four strokes over Al Graydon.

Randy Strang shot a 75, while Pat Lewis and Bob Slonski each produced 76s and Tom Wild and Doug Patton were each 77.

Rick Spiller, Ken Erickson, Parker and Dave Bettesworth registered long drives, while Bernie Berube, Roger Bergen, Hagen Klose and Bob Spearan had KPs.