Field shaping up for B.C. playdowns

Regional qualifiers earn berths to Canadian Direct Insurance B.C. Men's Curling Championships, Feb. 3-8 at Vernon Curling Club.

A pair of Kamloops rinks grabbed qualifying spots for the Canadian Direct Insurance B.C. Men’s Curling Championships at a regional playdown last weekend at the Vernon Curling Club.

Skips Scott DeCap and Darren Nelson won the A and B Brackets, respectively, in the six-team double-knockout spiel, which featured a trio of Vernon rinks.

The Vernon club will host provincials, Feb. 3-8.

Vernon’s Kevin Geistlinger, supported by TJ Perepolkin, Andrew Mercer and Darrell (Heavy D) Houston bowed 6-4 to DeCap in the A Final, and 7-1 to Nelson in the B Final.

Vernon foursomes Darren Heath (Aron Herrick, Sean Worth, Jamie Austin and alternate Marc Fillion) and Brian Essington (Lee Ranger, John Slattery, Rick Raber and alternate Dave Pogmoeller) went winless on the weekend.

As defending champion, Vernon’s Jim Cotter has an automatic bye into provincials.

Other teams qualifying for B.C. championships in Vernon include: Neil Dangerfield and Chris Baier, both of Victoria, Duncan’s Jason Montgomery, Sean Geall and Ken McArdle, both of New Westminster, Maple Ridge’s Grant Dezura, Vancouver’s Stephen Schneider and Kimberley’s Tom Buchy.

There will be an open zone wildcard tournament, Jan. 9-11, at the Peace Arch Curling Club in White Rock, for the four remaining B.C. qualifiers.


Just Posted

COLUMN: Trudeau trips his way towards election campaign

Glenn Mitchell thinks the drama teacher in Canada’s Prime Minister is coming through

Vernon sewer hook-up smells fishy

Okanagan Landing resident questions City of Vernon timing on counter-petition plan

Vernon takes step towards cutting carbon footprint of its buildings

City council decided on Monday to adopt the BC Energy Step Code to improve its building efficiency

Spallumcheen adventure park concerns

Neighbour to proposed adventure park in Spallumcheen offers up his concerns on project

B.C. sockeye returns drop as official calls 2019 ‘extremely challenging’

Federal government says officials are seeing the same thing off Alaska and Washington state

Groups ready campaign to help young voters identify ‘fake news’ in election

The media literacy campaign to focus on identifying misinformation and suspicious sources online

Big rally in northern B.C. draws attention to continuing lumber crisis

Mayor Joan Atkinson says about 400 workers have been directly affected by the closure of the Canfor mill

Orangeville Northmen take Minto Cup at Langley Events Centre

Swept best-of-five series 3-0 over Victoria Shamrocks

Expanded support to help B.C. youth from care attend university still falling short

Inadequate support, limited awareness and eligibility restrictions some of the existing challenges

Ethnic media aim to help maintain boost in voting by new Canadians

Statistics Canada says new Canadians made up about one-fifth of the voting population in 2016

UPDATE: Crown cross-examines B.C. father accused of killing daughters

Andrew Berry is charged in the deaths of six-year-old Chloe and four-year-old Aubrey in 2017

Dog attacked by river otters, Penticton owner says

Marie Fletcher says her dog was pulled underwater by four river otters in the Penticton Channel

Vintage Penticton tape deck is a reel mystery

Penticton man looking for whoever is speaking on a vintage reel-to-reel tape

Most Read