Alberta's Kevin Koe (from left)

Alberta's Kevin Koe (from left)

Koe claims Prestige men’s title

Kevin Koe grounds Brady Clark 6-5 to win Prestige Hotels Curling Classic title at the Vernon Curling Club.

Kevin Koe’s Calgary-based men’s rink grounded American Brady Clark 6-5 in the championship game of the Prestige Hotels Curling Classic Monday afternoon at the Vernon Curling Club.

Koe, the 2010 world champion, went undefeated for his third Vernon cashspiel title after winning the event back-to-back in 2009 and ‘10.

Koe, backed by third Pat Simmons, second Carter Rycroft and lead Nolan Thiessen, have reached the semis or finals in each of the three World Curling Tour events they have entered this season. They pocketed $7,500 for the win.

After a shaky 2-2 start, Clark’s Lynwood, Wash. crew (Sean Beighton, Phil Tilker and Darren Lehto) won four straight to reach the final and collect $5,500.

They doubled Vernon’s TJ Perepolkin 8-4 in Monday morning quarterfinal play, and then bounced another Vernon rink skipped by John (Johnny Mo) Morris 9-8 in the semis.

Check out Wednesday sports in the Morning Star for a full recap of Monday’s playoff action.