Former national champion Corey Osborne of Penetanguishene

Osborne topples Mattson for Splat title

Veteran Corey Osborne of Penetanguishene, Ont. wins open men's final of Splat Fest Racquetball Tournament Sunday at Rosters.

Veteran Corey Osborne of Penetanguishene, Ont. swept youthful Tanner Mattson of North Vancouver 2-0 (15-10, 15-7) in the men’s open final of the Splat Fest Racquetball Tournament Sunday at Rosters.

Osborne, who is ranked ninth in Canada, stopped Keith Callender of Kamloops 2-0 (15-11, 15-7) in the quarterfinals and then dispatched former Canadian junior champion Eric Urteaga of Langley 2-0 (15-3, 15-4) in the semis.

A 2005 Canadian singles champion, Osborne, 44, has made four appearances on Team Canada, and reached the podium three times, including a silver medal at the 2004 Pan American Championships in Ecuador, where he lost the final to fellow Canadian Brian Istace.

Mattson, ranked No. 22 and a member of Canada’s development team, reached the championship by bouncing Troy Brooks of Sherwood Park, Alta. 2-0 15-13, 15-7) and sweeping Connor Culhane of Coquitlam 2-0 (15-11, 15-12).

Doug Ross claimed the men’s A singles crown by upending Charlie McGarrity 2-0 (15-2 15-13) in the all-Vernon final.

Ross grounded Bertram Johnson of Calgary 2-1 (13-15, 15-2, 11-3) in the semis after defeating Karl Light of Victoria 2-0 (15-10, 15-8) in the quarters.

McGarrity downed Jim McCulloch of Victoria 2-0 (15-2, 15-11) in the quarters and knocked off Chuck Tanner of Kamloops 2-0 (15-2, 15-8) in the semis.

The men’s B singles title went to Steve Hendry of Victoria, a 2-1 (15-10, 2-15, 11-7) winner over Ken McCluskey of Vernon.

McCluskey earned earlier 2-0 victories over Stewart Fisher of Kamloops and Alan Reakes of White Rock.

In the men’s C/D singles round-robin, it was Grant Dickie of Kelowna prevailing ahead of Armstrong’s Frank Poirier.

Deborah Leclair of Maple Ridge topped the women’s A/B singles round-robin ahead of Marion McBridge of St. Albert, Alta.

The women’s C/D singles round-robin crown went to Chris Megli of Vernon with Karen McGarrity of Vernon runner-up.

In the men’s open doubles final, Osborne and Bryan Killins of Coquitlam took out Urteaga and Jason Scott of Vancouver 2-0 (16-14, 16-14).

Charlie McGarritty and Curt Broughton topped the men’s A doubles with a 2-1 (15-9, 7-15, 11-8) decision over McCluskey and Chuck Tanner of Kamloops.

In women’s doubles, it was Lynda Howell of Saskatoon and Sue MacLeod of Dartmouth, N.S. placing first in the round-robin ahead of Megli and McGarrity.

Diana Hambley of Abbotsford and Jack McBridge of St. Albert topped the A/B mixed doubles, while Noreen Mohan of Calgary and Roger Roy of Salmon Arm ruled the C/D mixed box.

Just Posted

Vernon eco-friendly home tour builds support for students

Canadian Federation of University Women host fifth annual fundraiser

Westwold stars in thriller film

Beyond the Woods set to release in June 2019

Fire destroys pickup: Vernon Fire Rescue

A vehicle is a total write off after a late night fire, the Fire Department says

Okanagan-Shuswap weather: Rainy days ahead

Rain in the forecast until Wednesday

Hitting the trails with Vernon’s Bush Babes and Bros

Dawna Jodoin’s love of trail running has led to a booming Vernon business

VIDEO: Fire contained to garage beside East Kelowna house

Garage is fully involved, say firefighters

Big White Fire Department raises more than $100,000 for new cross walks

The annual Rooftop Campout helped raised funds over the weekend

Total hogwash: Mr. Banks gives Okanagan cars a piggy polish

Mr. Banks, who lives on the Critteraid farm in the Okanagan, was offering the service on the weekend

Kamloops chamber of commerce director let go after controversial Facebook posts

Facebook account had derogatory comments about Muslims, Justin Trudeau

Kokanee swimmers leave mark on provincials

Eleven Vernon swimmers were in Kamloops for the competition

B.C. RCMP officer cleared after Taser incident seriously injures woman

Woman with knives refused to comply with orders therefore officer used appropriate level of force

Letter: Technology, not govt, reason for costly vehicle repairs

In regards to the full page ad, written and signed by David… Continue reading

‘Bikinishe’ swimwear retailer prompts Better Business Bureau warning

Watchdog has gotten dozens of complaints about company, which has been using fake Vancouver address

Letter: More public involvement key to swaying council

Unless more people attend council meetings, little will change letter writer says

Most Read