Vernon Watkin Motors Mustangs goalie Zachary Bouchard stops St. Albert Stars forward Finn Kallay in close during the C Division Final Sunday at the 48th annual Vernon Winter Carnival Coca Cola Classic Pee Wee Hockey Tournament at Kal Tire Place North. (Roger Knox/Morning Star)

Stars shine in C final over Vernon

Alberta team blows out hosts 17-3 in 48th annual Vernon Winter Carnival pee wee hockey tournament

The St. Albert Stars were relentless in the Mickey McMahon Tropy C Division final against the host Vernon Watkin Motors Mustangs at the 48th annual Vernon Winter Carnival Coca Cola Classic Pee Wee Hockey Tournament Sunday.

The Stars jumped out to a 6-0 first period lead and whipped the Mustangs 17-3.

Will Lutic scored four times for the Stars, who finished 3-2 overall. Cooper Michael, Ryland Monette and Finn Kallay each had hat tricks.

The Stars had period leads of 6-1 and 11-1.

Devon Sales-Parno, Morgan Hackman and Maguire Nicholson scored for Vernon. The Mustangs had won the last three Amy Myles Trophy A Division championships.

Two Lower Mainland teams, the undefeated Vancouver Thunderbirds (4-0) and Port Moody Panthers (3-1), met for the Amy Myles Trophy late Sunday afternoon.

The T-Birds capped off a perfect tournament by holding off the Panthers 9-7. Port Moody trailed 8-3 at one point in the final.

The Mickey Ogasawara Trophy D Division final technically went to the Yellowknife Wolfpack over the California Wave, but both teams decided to play a fun game and swap players after the Wave were forced to send eight players home to Southern California to play game, sanctioned by its governing body.

The Los Angeles Kings won the Alex Kuly Trophy B Division title with a 6-3 win over the Edmonton Canadians.

Individual awards were also handed out during and after the tournament.

During the opening ceremonies Thursday, Vernon’s Uncle Dave, owner of Uncle Dave’s Pizzeria, was named winner of the Rienie Holland Memorial Award for service to the tournament. The award is named after the late co-founder of the Coca Cola Classic tournament.

Uncle Dave has served pizza to the tournament for two decades.

Paul Pulver of the victorious Thunderbirds was named winner of the Ernie Kowal Memorial Award, presented to the tournament’s top coach.

The Wolfpack took home the Dan Oxnard Memorial Trophy for being named the tournament’s most sportsmanlike team.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Just Posted

Home loss ends Vernon Vipers’ long weekend win streak

The Vernon Vipers ended the three games in three nights weekend with two wins, one loss

Family Day move a welcome change: poll

Okanagan readers voted that the new date for Family Day in B.C. is a positive change

Interior Savings looks to hand out bursaries

Applications open until Feb. 28

Vernon art gallery turns out the lights and throws a party

DJ, drinks and food at Art After Dark Feb. 23

A Mother’s Wish: Ryan Shtuka’s mother wants her son to be ‘forever known’

‍‍‍‍‍“Let me tell you a story …. it all began with a boy named Ryan”

B.C.’s top young skiers hit Sovereign Lake for Championships

Midget-age racers came from across the province

PHOTOS: Cracker Invitational at Swan Lake sees crowd

More than 30 enthusiasts met at Swan Lake Sunday

Deported B.C. man who came to Canada as a baby granted chance at return

Lee Van Heest was deported to the Netherlands in 2017

Skate with the Vernon Vipers

Upcoming stars took to the ice with the Vernon Vipers Sunday

Sex abuse survivors to meet with Vatican summit organizers

Pope Francis has urged participants to meet with abuse victims before they came to Rome

Ex-FBI official: ‘Crime may have been committed’ by Trump

Andrew McCabe said FBI had good reason to open a counterintelligence investigation into whether Trump was in league with Russia

Most Read