T-Birds take Pee Wee title

The Stevenson Mechanical Thunderbirds clipped the host Lumby Stars 6-5 in the Okanagan North Super Pee Wee Hockey League playoff final

Morning Star Staff

Brady Beacom scored at 7:54 of overtime as the Stevenson Mechanical Thunderbirds clipped the host Lumby Stars 6-5 in the Okanagan North Super Pee Wee Hockey League playoff final Monday night.

It was end-to-end, four-on-four action in OT with the goalies making TSN-moment saves all over the place.

Beacom picked up a loose puck and fired it at Stars’ goalie Michael Preston, who blocked the shot with his glove, only to have it careen off the glove, bounce off his shoulder in.

There was pandemonium at the T-Bird bench, especially since Landen Harrison and Jaden Foster recorded goals in the final three minutes to force overtime.  The Stars pumped in two quick goals by Drew Mackenzie and Tanner Franje-Gilbert, to go up 5-3 in the third period.

Josh Litven gave the second-place Stars a 1-0 first-period lead with Rory Campbell making it 2-0 early in the second on a breakaway, both snipes assisted by Mackenzie.

Beacom, assisted by Harison, answered for the T-Birds midway through the second. Franje-Gilbert put Lumby up 3-1, from Tage Kineshanko, before Harison converted at 5:57, from Michael Pusey.

The third-place T-Birds equalized when d-man Jaden Foster went end to end and slipped the puck under Preston. Nick Tilby earned the assist.

The Stevenson Mechanical coaching team of Paul Weary and (Grandpa) Joe O’Hearn got dynamic goaltending from Jordan Foster and Jared Ross in the playoffs.

Jacob Wettlaufer rung up a deuce as the T-Birds toppled the North Okanagan #2 Knights 6-2 in semifinals Sunday in Armstrong.

Samuel White, Beacom, Aidan Rivard and Elias Wery had singles.

In preliminary action Saturday, smooth-skating d-man Elias Wery registered a pure hat trick and had two helpers in a 9-2 win over the Bannister GM Heat. Wettlaufer also pulled the hatty.

The Stars had a hectic weekend, playing the intermission at the Canucks-Minnesota Wild game Friday night. They returned home late Saturday night, but came out inspired and toppled the first-place North Okanagan #1 Knights 5-1 Sunday morning.

Franje-Gilbert opened the attack just 15 seconds into the second half, assisted by d-man Jordan Romailler. The Knights equalized 75 seconds into the third. Matthew Yaremcio scored from his knees, on a feed by Kineshanko, for Lumby’s go-ahead snipe. Franje-Gilbert, Morgan Holland and Yaremcio completed the offence. Kineshanko assisted two in support of  marvellous Preston.

D-men Vanessa Yaremcio, Franje-Gilbert, Payton Kineshanko, Liam Macleod and Jordan Romailler put in bold showings.

In B side action, the Billy D’s Family Restaurant Xplosion lost 6-3 to the Salmar Classic Hornets Sunday at Nor-Val Sports Centre.

Liam Reid, with a deuce, and Dawson Martian pocketed goals for the Xplosion. Kevin Morgan, Brady Horton and Zack Laranjo had assists,

It was 2-2 at the ice clean with the Buzz going ahead on a powerplay with 4:41 left in the second period.

Said Xplosion coach Dan Wilson, on behalf of assistant coaches, Blaine Martian and Greg Louis, Jason Clarke, and team manager, Fay Jeberg: “We had our share of peaks and valleys this season, and overall I’d say we had a sucessful season because everyone on the team had fun improving their skills. Hats off to Eric Foufoulas who was voted the Best Goalie by the other Vernon Pee Wee coaches. Everyone is looking forward to next season.”

Vernon Lakeside Printing Blackhawks fell 6-1 to eventual Atom A champion Sicamous Eagles Saturday with Rylan Petty scoring for the Hawks, from Connor Cecchini. Donovan Phillips took the gold jersey for the Hawks.

The M&K Ready Mix Rockets lost 6-2 to the Salmon Arm Save On Foods Oil Kings in the Atom B side final.

Outstanding saves by Matthew Kuhnlein kept the Rockets close for two periods. Scotty Hoffman scored on a coast-to-coast rush, while solid forechecking came from CJ Maleniza, Nic Morgan, Nolan Thomas, and Riley Kimble, who enjoyed a breakout game.

Damian Glover hustled to loose pucks and scored once, Max Stewart and Brody Wright backchecked hard and strong defence was provided by Levi Vanderdeen, Bradley Halvorson, Jon Finlayson, Kayden Bowering, Bryce Lauer, and Dylan Wapple. David Ivanoff delivered some beauty breakout passes.

Sicamous doubled Lumby 4-2 in the A final. Both teams advance to the Valleys in Lumby.