Tigers deal out hardware

With the sting of losing the TOJLL championship diminishing, the Vernon Tigers handed out their team hardware Sunday night.

Tyler Lowey

Morning Star Staff

With the sting of losing the Thompson Okanagan Junior Lacrosse League championship diminishing, the Vernon Source for Sports Tigers handed out their team hardware Sunday night at the Landels’ household.

Tigers’ netminder Aaron Jensen was exceptional all season long. He was named MVP after leading the league with a .855 save percentage and a 7.50 goals against average.

“It’s an awesome feeling and a special award to win in my last year,” said Jensen. “This is a good way to go out.”

Jensen was battling a Ben Bishop-like groin injury which he sustained with two games remaining in the regular season and it plagued him for the playoffs.

Playing with two pulled groins and a rolled ankle, Jensen was removed from Game 5 in the second period after allowing 11 goals.

“It’s just one game. It doesn’t take away from what we did this season. I wouldn’t change a thing,” said Jensen.

The awards marked the first time the entire organization got together since the finals. Jensen claims that it was a fun event and that the team has moved on.

Ryan Sarazin led the Tigers in scoring and finished sixth in the league with 35 goals and 60 points to be named Top Scorer.

A pair of Tigers split the Top Defensive Player award. Thomas Landels and Tre Mason did a great job all year with physical play and getting sticks in shooting lanes.

Logan Revell supplied two goals and one assist to be named the Most Improved Player.

Jordy Barr and Steele Pelletier split the Rookie of the Year award. Barr registered 12 goals and 24 points, while Pelletier recorded 13 goals and 25 points. They were both leaned on as offensive weapons down the stretch.

Jay Seaton was named Unsung Hero and Braden Barr won the Coaches Choice award.

Duane Barr received the Volunteer of the Year award.

The Tigers have five players graduating the program. Braden Barr, Darrell Landels, Seaton, Mason and Jensen received plaques for all their hard work over the years.


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

B.C. wineries are open for indoor tasting despite new provincial health regulations. Photo- 
50th Parallel Winery, Instagram.
Indoor wine tastings still allowed in B.C., not considered a ‘social gathering’

“Tasting is really just part of the retail experience. The analogy I use is you wouldn’t buy a pair of pants without trying them on.”

Vernon Public Art Gallery executive director Dauna Kennedy and board member Kyle Britton accept a $43,400 grant from the BC Arts Council one-time StrongerBC fund amid the COVID-19 pandemic April 9, 2021. (VPAG)
$43K boost for Vernon gallery

Province backs local art gallery with one-time pandemic grant

A 46-year-old man from Armstrong died in Revelstoke hospital after being injured in the Lumby area. (File photo)
Armstrong snowmobiler dies in Revelstoke hospital

46-year-old man injured in Tsuius Mountain area of Monashees around Lumby area

Part of the massive mess left behind in a Spallumcheen rental home owned by Wes Burden, whose tenants bolted from the property in the middle of the night. Burden is now facing a hefty cleaning and repair bill as a result. (Photo submitted)
Spallumcheen landlord’s home trashed by tenants

Rooms filled with junk, garbage, human and animal feces; landlord scared to rent again

A car sheared a Hydro pole and the driver was pinned by a fence pole on 43rd Avenue Saturday, April 10. (Carmen Jaster photo)
Suspected impaired driver ‘lucky to be alive’ after crash in Vernon yard

Impaired driving investigation underway after driver shears Hydro pole and narrowly misses being impaled

Burnaby MLA Raj Chouhan presides as Speaker of the B.C. legislature, which opened it spring session April 12 with a speech from the throne. THE CANADIAN PRESS
B.C. NDP promises more health care spending, business support in 2021 budget

John Horgan government to ‘carefully return to balanced budgets’

Shayla, an 8-pound black and grey Havanese, was stolen from outside a store on Banks Road on Saturday. (Contributed)
Stolen pup located, Kelowna RCMP confirms

Mounties said on April 12 that Shayla, the 8-pound, black and grey Havanese dog, has been located safe and sound

Penticton Vees continue their winning streak carrying a 5-0 win title as of Sunday night's hockey action. (Cherie Morgan/Cherie Morgan Photography)
Penticton Vees continue winning streak

Sunday night’s 6-1 win has them with five in a row since the start of the season

A sign on a shop window indicates the store is closed in Ottawa, Monday March 23, 2020. The Canadian Federation of Independent Business is raising its estimate for the number of businesses that are considering the possibility of closing permanently. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Small business struggling amid COVID-19 pandemic looks for aid in Liberals’ budget

President Dan Kelly said it is crucial to maintain programs to help businesses to the other side of the pandemic

The National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians says that includes attempts to steal Canadian research on COVID-19 and vaccines, and sow misinformation. (AP Photo/Esteban Felix)
Intelligence committee warns China, Russia targeting Canadian COVID-19 research

Committee also found that the terrorist threat to Canada has shifted since its last such assessment

Parliament Hill is viewed below a Canada flag in Gatineau, Quebec, Friday, Sept. 18, 2020. A new poll suggests most Canadians are feeling more grateful for what they have in 2020 as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Canada’s greenhouse gas emissions increased slightly in 2019: report

2019 report shows Canada emitted about one million tonnes more of these gases than the previous year

A crane stands in the middle of a fire-ravaged Glenmore Road construction site on Thursday, April 8. (Aaron Hemens - Capital News)
Evacuation order remains in effect around burned Kelowna construction site

Assessment of potentially risky crane to take place this afternoon

Dr. E. Kwok administers a COVID-19 vaccine to a recipient at a vaccination clinic run by Vancouver Coastal Health, in Richmond, B.C., Saturday, April 10, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
B.C. to register people ages 40+ for COVID-19 vaccines in April

Appointments are currently being booked for people ages 66 and up

Interior Health improves access to mental health supports amid COVID-19 pandemic. (Stock)
Interior Health connects people to mental health resources amid COVID

310-MHSU line receives positive feedback in early months of rollout

Most Read