Julia Payson, Executive Director, CMHA Vernon & District Branch. (Photo contributed)

Julia Payson, Executive Director, CMHA Vernon & District Branch. (Photo contributed)

Vernon director joins Community Living BC board

Julia Payson is one of seven Community Living BC board members

Community Living BC (CLBC), the provincial Crown corporation that supports more than 21,000 people with developmental disabilities throughout B.C., has named its new seven-member board.

Julia Payson, executive director of the Canadian Mental Health Association Vernon and District branch, joins the board alongside self-advocate and professional actor Jake Anthony, Katherine Bright of Katherine Bright Consulting, chief financial for the Capital Regional District Nelson Chan, chief executive officer of StarGarden Corporation Marnie Larson, market vice-president of CIBC commercial banking Simon Philp and chair of the Capital Regional District Arts Advisory Council Patricia Sullivan.

“I look forward to working with the incoming board members. Their expertise and professional experience will help guide a renewed vision for CLBC over the next three years and I thank them for taking on this new role,” said Shane Simpson, Minister of Social Development and Poverty Reduction.

Board members provide oversight and guidance in alignment with the Province’s goal to make B.C. a more accessible and inclusive province for people with disabilities.

Related: New leadership at CMHA

Payson previously served as secretariat director of the Community Action Initiative and as executive director of the John Howard Society of British Columbia. She is a board director for the BC Non-Profit Housing Association and has worked internationally in emergency medical aid in Sudan, Bangladesh and Papua New Guinea. Payson also volunteers are a board consultant with Vantage Point and as a board development committee member for the BC SPCA. She holds a bachelor’s of arts from the University of British Columbia.

“My thanks also go to the outgoing board members who have helped shape CLBC over the last few years. Thank you to Diane Friedman, Eileen Stewart, David Babych, David Everett, Mike Watson and Jane Holland for their advice and compassion for the important work that CLBC does for people with disabilities throughout our province.”


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.