Skip to content

33 names submitted for upcoming Splatsin byelection

Dec. 4 nominiation meeting saw 29 names put forward for council, 4 for chief
The Dec. 4 nomination meeting resulted in 33 names being put forward for the Jan. 22 Splatsin by-election, which some band members were calling for back in April with a protest blockading administrative buildings. (Brendan Shykora - Morning Star)

Thirty-three names have been put forward for council positions in the upcoming Splatsin election, with four of those in the running for the top spot.

On Sept. 12, a petition submitted to the Splatsin Complaints and Appeal Board resulted in Kukpi7 (Chief) Doug Thomas and Coun. Beverly Thomas being removed from office over financial breaches, triggering a byelection for the remainder of the current term ending in 2026.

Though that only leaves two vacancies, all seats are back on the ballot as the nomination announcement stated that it would be for “the positions of five councillors and one chief.”

The list of nominees includes a number of familiar names, with several of them having served on council before. For the position of chief, that includes long-time former chief Wayne Christian who lost to Thomas by five votes in 2022.

The board decisions leading to this byelection are based on allegations that Kukpi7 Thomas unilaterally signed two bank drafts totalling $27,700, then another two in the amount of $25,000 and $61,501.75, with Coun. Thomas (his aunt) as a co-signor, with all four said to have been withdrawn improperly. The ruling removed them from office immediately, with neither allowed to run again for eight years.

With the election slated for Jan. 22, the new council will serve a two-year term. The full list of nominees can be found online at, though candidates can choose to decline their nomination.

Read more: New Splatsin election after chief, councillor removed

Read more: Former Enderby mayor to try provincial politics

About the Author: Heather Black

Read more