Skip to content

Nomination call goes out for North Okanagan athletic awards

Tim Hortons awards presented to top athlete, team, leadership; nomination deadline is May 31
Aimee Skinner (right) is presented the 2023 North Okanagan Tim Hortons Athlete of the Year award from committee member Ann Holmes at the annual awards ceremony. She shared the honour with cycling Leah Goldstein, who was not on hand to accept the first tie for Athlete of the Year in the 30-year history of the awards. Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 awards for top athlete, team and leadership. (Roger Knox/Morning Star)

North Okanagan athletes and teams have enjoyed a banner year, bringing home many medals and accolades.

But who deserves the region’s biggest trophies?

The call has gone out for members of the public to nominate local sporting heroes for the annual Tim Hortons North Okanagan Athlete, Team and Leadership awards.

You can participate by sending in your pick, either by telephone or e-mail to Ann Holmes, committee director, at 250-308-1558 or

Nominations are being received now with the closing date set for Friday, May 31.

“Last year’s race was so tight, two great competitors were chosen to share the 2023 Tim Hortons North Okanagan Athlete of the Year trophy,” said Holmes. “These were ultra athlete Leah Goldstein and multi-sports star Aimee Skinner.”

Goldstein is a renowned international cyclist who is best known for her incredible solo victory over both men and women at the 2021 4,800 kilometre Race Across America.

Skinner’s all-round sports prowess helped the Kalamalka Secondary Lakers volleyball team win the provincials where she was named tournament MVP.

She also received an all-star award for her performance when the Zone 5 Venom ringette team won the Western Canadian title as well as the provincials.

The Venom won last year’s Tim Hortons Team of the Year trophy.

The 2023 Tim Hortons Leadership in Sports trophy went to Vernon Curling Club manager Dave Merklinger who has been on the job since 2007 and is considered one of the world’s best ice makers, having created perfect surfaces used at the Olympics, Worlds, Scotties and Briers. The final award winners will be chosen by a panel of media and sports community representatives.

Roger Knox

About the Author: Roger Knox

I am a journalist with more than 30 years of experience in the industry. I started my career in radio and have spent the last 21 years working with Black Press Media.
Read more